Nevada Arms Law

Local Weapon Laws in Nevada / County Gun Laws / City Gun Laws / Knife

NOTE: This website exists as a reference only, and is not to be taken as legal advice. Always read the laws yourself. There may be other laws than the listed laws, information may become out of date, and the interpretations here may not be correct.


This page exists to list a lot of the local weapon related rules within Nevada. Presently it contains the bulk of the county level rules.

In Nevada, there is state-wide preemption of most firearms laws. Click here to return to the firearms laws on the state level.

On the local level, localities are explicitly authorized under state law regulate the unsafe discharge of firearms, and Clark County has a grandfathered handgun registration scheme. There is some legal dispute over whether some other regulations may also be grandfathered. Many local governments also still have codes on the books that they are not enforcing. In addition to regulations from local governments in Nevada, there are also federal and tribal lands that are run under different sets of rules than is found under Nevada state law. State preemption law does not apply to federal lands, and in tribal lands protections found under both state and federal law may not apply. One example of a federal restriction is that in the Red Rock Conservation Area has a no loaded weapons rule posted by the BLM, except during lawful hunting.

On this page, regulations which I believe violate the state preemption law I will highlight in red text... this is not legal advice and my interpretations may not be correct. Local governments can and in many cases will try to enforce these rules against you despite arguably being illegal.

Codes pertaining to weapons of all types are included on this page. This page is mainly designed so that people know what regulations exist pertaining to the possession, commerce, and discharge of weapons. Codes restricting employment and licensure in certain fields due to weapons convictions are not included. Most localities have codes of this nature. Some codes regulating explosives are not listed, and many codes also regulate explosives under terms like "hazardous material" or "health hazard." Many codes involving putting flammable or explosive substances into sewer systems are also not listed, as they were not considered particularly relevant. Many definitions of assault and similar types of crimes are also not listed. Some business zoning codes related to firearms and weapons and building codes for ranges may be missing. Other codes may be missing also.

The County Codes for Esmeralda, Eureka, and Humboldt Counties are not yet listed. Municipal codes for some of the biggest cities and towns with the most accessible codes are listed, but many towns' codes are not listed here. A lot of this information is derived from searching through the codes posted at the Nevada Legislature Website. An interesting map showing where Indian Reservations are can be found here.


Carson City Code of Ordinances

Discharge of Firearms

  • Carson City Code of Ordinances 8.12.010 prohibits the discharge of firearms other than shotguns, air rifles, and B-B guns within 5000 feet of dwellings, buildings and places of public resort. For shotguns, air rifles, and B-B- guns, the required distance is 1000 feet, except with rifled slugs from a shotgun, then the distance is 5000 feet.

  • This code also prohibits shooting on or across public roads.
  • Between Deer Run Road Bridge and the McTarnahan Bridge Site it is unlawful to discharge any firearm within 5000 feet of the Carson River, and also between the McTarnahan Bridge Site and the Douglas County Line, it is unlawful to discharge any firearm other than shotguns and air rifles and B-B guns within 5000 feet of the Carson River.
  • Section 8.12.010 does not apply to peace officers or persons shooting in any regularly established and lawfully authorized shooting range, or to any person lawfully discharging a firearm in protection of life or property.

Ammunition Storage

Per 14.02.185 it is unlawful to store explosives and explosive materials, including small arms ammunition, primers, and smokeless propellants in Carson City, except with a permit from the Fire Chief. Elsewhere in the code, there are other regulations regarding explosives and the transportation thereof.

Gun Commerce

18.05.045 generally restricts sale of merchandize from a home location, with the exception of firearm sales by licensed gun dealers required by federal regulations to conduct firearm sales at their home location

18.03 Definitions defines "gun shop" and "gunsmith," "Gun Club, skeet or target range," and "archery range"

Archery

Per 13.02.220 Archery is prohibited at parks, except at designated places for that purpose. Per 18.04.135 a Special Use Permit is needed to establish an Archery range in a General Commercial district.

Unclaimed Weapons

Per 2.32.050 unclaimed property other than weapons may be kept for Carson City use, sold at auction, or donated to a nonprofit. Weapons may be retained or traded by the Sheriff for official use by the department, or destroyed.

Return to County Map Return To County Map

Churchill County Code

Firearms

Churchill County code barely mentions firearms.

Churchill County defines a secondhand dealer (16.24) as:

SECONDHAND DEALER: Any person engaged in whole or part in the business of buying and selling metal junk, melted metals or secondhand personal property, other than antiques, used books, coins and collectables. The term does not include a person who engages in the business of buying or selling secondhand firearms or any antique parts, accessories or other equipment relating to those firearms

Stun Devices

There is chapter 8.14 relating to electronic stun devices. It defines electric shock, electronic stun device, self-defense, and weapon in 8.14.010. It limits the use thereof to self-defense, and makes them illegal to possess during the commission of any other crime in 8.14.020. 8.14.020 also establishes a list of people who cannot possess electric stun devices. Per 8.14.030 the chapter does not apply to prosecuting attorneys, attorneys from the attorney general office, or police while performing lawful duties. Per 8.14.040 the chapter does not apply when the electronic stun device is used for agricultural purposes. Per 8.15.050 up to 6 months in jail and/or up to $1000 in fines is the penalty for violating chapter 8.13

Explosives

Per chapter 9.08, it is generally illegal to sell or otherwise dispose of fireworks in the county, and it is generally illegal to use them. The only exceptions are for organized public display approved by the county commissioners and fire chief, and use to control agricultural crop damage by wildlife.

Cities and Towns within Churchill County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. City codes are not posted except for Fallon. I have not located a source for the codes of other cities and towns.

Tentative List of Towns in Churchill County:

  • Bernice
  • Bolivia
  • Boyer
  • Clan Alpine
  • Clemens
  • Cold Springs
  • Coppereid
  • Dixie
  • Dixie Valley
  • Eagleville
  • Eastgate
  • Fallon
  • Fallon Station
  • Fillmore
  • Frenchman
  • Gregory
  • Hazen
  • Humbolt Salt Marsh
  • Island City
  • Jessup
  • Kingston
  • Lahontan
  • Leete
  • Leeteville
  • Middlegate
  • Miriam
  • Nevada City
  • Nevada Hills
  • Northam
  • Parran
  • Ragtown
  • Red top
  • Salt Wells
  • Sand Springs
  • St. Clair
  • Stillwater
  • Trinity
  • White Cloud City
  • Willowtown

Fallon Municipal Code

Discharge

Per Chapter 9.64 it is unlawful to discharge any ordinance or firearm except for cap pistols. It is also unlawful to keep, give away, sell, set off, or discharge any squib rocket, roman candle, chaser, firecracker, or other firework. Public firework displays are allowed with permission from the city council in writing.

Explosives

Per 21.44.040 bulk storage of explosives and flammable liquids other than gasoline and lubricating fuel oil, aboveground is unlawful except with permission from the board of adjustment. 10.24.070 and 10.24.110 concern vehicle transportation of explosives.


Also, the following Indian Reservations exist in the Churchill County area:

  • Fallon Reservation
  • Walker River Indian Reservation, (which also is partly within Lyon County and Mineral County borders.)
Return to County Map Return To County Map

Clark County Code

Clark County Code Chapter 12.04 concerns firearms.

In Clark County, the government seems intent on enforcing many rules despite the state preemption law.

Skip Ahead:

12.04.010 provides definitions for Dealer, Firearm Capable of Being Concealed, Firearm, Manager, and Pistol

Carry of Firearms and Other Weapons

Per 19.04.060 the Clark County director of Parks can set their own rules, and the director has taken this to mean that he can set rules regarding firearms. There is a ban on firearm possession in county parks. Rockets, slingshots, boomerangs, martial arts paraphernalia, and explosives are similarly restricted.

Whether registered or not, it is unlawful for any person to possess a firearm in a county park. Additionally, no person shall carry, possess, or discharge firearms, firecrackers, rockets, torpedoes, or other fireworks, slingshots, boomerangs, or possess martial arts paraphernalia in a county park.

In a similar fashion, beware that there are likely other regulations not contained in the Clark County Code that were created by Clark County entities and subdivisions that are likely not listed on this page.

Per 6.170.085 security guards in night clubs shall not carry firearms, knives, night sticks, clubs, or chemical or electronic weapons. Per 6.160.150 the same is true for security in exotic dance establishments

Knife / Bludgeon Regulations

  • Per 12.04.180, it is unlawful to conceal a knife with a blade of 3" or more in length, or a concealed weapon of any description (including firearms), without first having written permission from the sheriff.
  • Per 12.04.185 a mace, numb-chuck, truncheon, or other bludgeoning weapon or device capable of inflicting grievous bodily harm is unlawful to possess or carry, without permission from the sheriff. The sheriff can only give permission upon determination that the applicant is a bona fide collector or exhibitor of weapons and is of good moral character.
  • 12.04.190 exempts police officers, animal control officers, and code enforcement officers from 12.04.180 and 12.04.190 when possessing a collapsible baton in the performance of their duties.

Electronic Stun Devices

Also, 12.04.260 is a section on electronic stun devices.

12.04.260 - Unlawful use of electronic stun device.

It is unlawful, within the unincorporated area of Clark County, for any person, other than a law enforcement officer, to use an electronic stun device (device which is designed to deliver an electric shock to the body or person of another) for any purpose other than self defense.

It is further unlawful for any person who:

(a) Has been convicted of a felony in the United States or the state of Nevada, or in any state or territory of the United States or any public subdivision thereof; or
(b) Is a fugitive from justice; or
(c) Is an unlawful user or seller of narcotics; or
(d) Any minors; to possess such electronic stun device.

(Ord. 967 § 1, 1986)

Declared State of Emergency (Authority to Ban Carry / Sale of Weapons)

Per 12.28.030 and per 12.28.040 the sheriff can proclaim a state of emergency and then prohibit:

(3) The manufacture, transfer, use, possession or transportation of a Molotov cocktail or any other device, instrument or object designed to explode or produce uncontained combustion;
(4) The transporting, possessing or using of gasoline, kerosene, or combustible, flammable, or explosive liquids or materials in a glass or uncapped container of any kind except in connection with the normal operation of motor vehicles, normal home use or legitimate commercial use;
(5) The possession of firearms or any other deadly weapon by a person (other than a law enforcement officer) in a place other than that person's place of residence or business;
...
(7) The sale, purchase or dispensing of firearms, ammunition or explosives.

Per 3.04.060, during an emergency or disaster the board of county commissioners can also suspend or limit sale, dispensation, use, or transportation of firearms, explosives, and combustibles.

Discharge of Weapons

  • Discharge of weapons is prohibited in the parks.
  • Per 12.04.230, specific regions are defined where it is unlawful to discharge a firearm, or instrument of any kinds, character, or description, which throws a bullet or missile of any kind for any distance by means of the elastic force of air or any explosive substance.
  • Per 12.04.250, violating 12.04.230 (discharge of a firearm) is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of at least $100 and up to $500.
  • Also, per 12.04.240:
Pursuant to NRS 202.287, the area designated as a populated area for the purpose of prohibiting the discharge of weapons in the county is generally and legally described in Section 12.04.230

Restricted People - Handgun Ownership

12.04.050 establishes a list of certain types of people prohibited from owning or possessing handguns. Many of them are already included under state and federal law, such as felons, fugitives, the adjudged insane, and persons under the age of 18. But also, unlawful users and sellers of narcotics, habitual drunkards, and members of organizations advocating criminal syndicalism are included on the list. It is also unlawful for these people to attempt to obtain one. Per 12.04.070, persons under the age of 18 can use a handgun while supervised by an adult. Per 12.04.170, within the unincorporated area of Clark County, it is unlawful for any person to aid or permit a person under 18 to have in his possession a pistol without supervision.

12.04.050 - Persons prohibited from purchasing or owning pistols.

It is unlawful in the unincorporated area of Clark County, for any person to receive from another by loan, gift, purchase, or in any manner, or attempt to obtain in any manner or have in his possession or control, a pistol as defined by this chapter who:


(a) Has been convicted of a felony in the state of Nevada, or in any state or territory of the United States or any political subdivision thereof;
(b) Is a fugitive from justice;
(c) Is an unlawful user or seller of narcotics;
(d) Is a habitual drunkard;
(e) Is a member of an organization advocating criminal syndicalism as defined in NRS 203.160 through 203.190;

(f) Has been adjudged insane in the state or any other state and has not subsequently been adjudged sane;
(g) Is seventeen years of age or under.
(Ord. 1172 § 1, 1989: Ord. 242 § 5, 1965)

Note that NRS 203.160 and 203.190 do not exist anymore.

Commerce in Handguns and Ammunition (Selling, Registration, Waiting Period etc.)

  • 12.04.020 prohibits engaging in the business of buying or selling pistols or accepting pledges of pistols as security for loans, without a "pistol permit" issued by the county, and prohibits the leasing of pistols.
  • Per 12.04.030 only allows such "pistol permits" to be issued to hardware stores, gunsmith shops, sporting good shops, antique gun dealers, and pawn shops licensed by the county. Per 12.04.040 to get such a permit, one submits an application to the county and the county may investigate and approve or disapprove the applications at its discretion. Per 12.04.270 applicants must pay a fee to the Las Vegas metropolitan police department.
  • Per 12.04.060 it is unlawful to sell, lend, or otherwise transfer a pistol to anyone who the transferor knows or has reasonable cause to believe is under the influence of intoxicating beverages, is mentally ill or disturbed, or is prohibited under 12.04.050
  • Per 12.04.080 there is a 72 hour waiting period for pistols sold by dealers and all pistols delivered must be wrapped securely and accompanied by a receipt including the name, address, and description of the transferee, the manufacturer, model, and serial number of the pistol, and advice to register within 72 hours of receiving the pistol if the buyer is a resident of the county. Per 12.04.100 the sheriff, within 24 hours of a sale, must receive a duplicate copy of the receipt signed by both the seller and the buyer.
  • Per 12.04.110, a resident of Clark County must register a pistol within 72 hours of receiving title, by appearing personally at the sheriff's office with the pistol. Per 12.04.200, it is unlawful for any person with at least 60 days of residency in the county to own or possess a pistol or other firearm capable of being concealed unless it has first been registered. Per 12.04.210, it is unlawful for any person to sell a pistol or concealable firearm without registering or causing it to be registered to the transferee.
  • Per 12.04.120 it is unlawful to transfer any pistol with the serial number removed, obliterated, concealed or altered and per 12.04.150 homemade pistols cannot be bought or sold accept in accordance with federal law.
  • Per 12.04.130, no window displays of pistols or ammunition are allowed in any store or business except during the time when the store is open and there is supervision by the licensee or adult authorized personnel.
  • Per 12.04.140 no pistol of foreign make can be sold with ammunition for the same unless the ammunition is expressly designed for use with that pistol.
  • Per 12.04.160 all used pistols except antiques sold and purchased shall be in a safe and operable condition. (Apparently the purchaser is just as guilty as the seller?)

Penalty

Per 12.04.220 the penalty for violating 12.04.010 through 12.04.210 is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $500.

Other Arms Commerce Regulations / Fees

Gun Related Businesses

Chapter 6.30 concerns "Multiple Vendor Arena Sales" which includes antique gun and knife shows. Per 6.12.930 there is a fee for running a sporting goods store and it is prohibited for a home business to take orders for or sell any weapon defined in Title 29 of the code. Per 6.12.557 home and warehouse based gunsmith shops are not permitted and gunsmith shops must pay fees. Per 6.12.910 any person operating a weapons range shall pay an annual fee of $150.

Other Potentially Arms Related Business

Per 6.12.110 any person who provides armored cars to other persons shall pay a fee of $150 per armored car annually. Per 6.12.687 martial arts instructors must pay fees and obtain a work card. Per 6.12.638 there fees also exist for leather good makers and per 6.12.656 there are fees for persons using mechanized or hand tools to fabricate or repair machinery.

Explosives
Chapter 13.04 requires permits and such for explosives use and 13.04.235 prohibit possession, manufacture, and sale of fireworks. Per chapter 30.16 there are some zoning issues with explosives and hazardous materials.

Cities and Towns within Clark County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. City codes are not posted yet.

Tentative List of Towns in Clark County:

Cities:

Other Places:

  • Arden
  • Blue Diamond
  • Bunkerville
  • Cactus Springs
  • Cal-Nev-Ari
  • Cottonwood Cove
  • Coyote Springs
  • Crystal
  • Enterprise
  • Glendale
  • Goodsprings
  • Indian Springs
  • Jean
  • Logandale
  • Mountain Springs
  • Overton
  • Primm
  • Riverside
  • Sloan
  • Stewarts Point

Boulder City, NV City Code

Ban on Carry of Firearms

Per 7-1-3, no person other than a police officer can have a firearm or air gun in his possession within 1000 yards of any building, street, sidewalk, alley, or other public place unless it is unloaded and knocked down or enclosed within a carry case. There is an exception for shooting ranges and for the stocking if firearms by authorized dealers.

Discharge of Weapons

Per 7-1-3 it is unlawful for any person other than a police officer to discharge firearms or air guns within 1000 yards of any building, street, sidewalk, alley, or other public place. However, the use of supervised shooting ranges authorized by the city council is permissible. There is no exception listed for self-defense.

Per 7-1-16:

No person shall throw or shoot any object, arrow, stone, snowball or other missile or projectile, by hand or by any other means at any other person or at, in or into any building, street, sidewalk, alley, highway or other public place, or property of another within the City. (Ord. 28, 1-3-1960, eff. 1-4-1960)

Humane Killing of Animals

Per 7-3-2:

Destroying an animal by the use of a firearm or other weapon may be considered humane only if done properly, within legal boundaries and instantaneous death of the animal results.

Gun Shop Zoning

Peer 11-11-3 "Key and gun shop, including incidental repair work" is allowed in the C1 Zone.

Henderson Municipal Code

Chapter 8.98 is the main section regarding weapons

Possession of Weapons

Concealed Weapons
8.98.010 makes it unlawful to carry upon his person, without written permission from the chief of police, a concealed weapon of any kind or description, including firearms and knives with a blade of three inches or more. Per 8.98.020, police in the performance of duty are exempt.
Knives, Bludgeons, etc. Prohibited

Per 8.98.070 it is unlawful to sell, give away, display, or have in possession any knife, dagger, stiletto, device commonly known as a switchblade, spring-blade, or push button knife. Per 8.98.075 it is unlawful for any person except a police officer to possess any mace, numb-chuck (nun-chaku), truncheon, or other bludgeoning weapon or device capable of inflicting grievous harm. The chief of police can give written permission to possess bludgeoning devices to a person of good moral character who is a bona fide collector or exhibitor of weapons

Ban on Weapons in Parks

Per 8.10.180, weapons are not allowed near special events. If applied to firearms, this should violate preemption:

No weapons or personal items that can be used as weapons shall be allowed in or near any special event, except that members of the media having valid media credentials may possess tools of their trade necessary to their profession.
8.11.140 has similar wording to 8.10.180 except that it applies to parades and public assemblies instead of special events. Per 8.99.030
M. No firearms, archery, paint ball weapons, air guns, BB guns, or like devices shall be allowed in a park or park facility, unless part of a city-sponsored program or allowed through a park reservation pursuant to HMC [section] 8.99.030(C).
...

R. Fireworks and other explosives are prohibited except as a part of an approved and permitted fireworks display.

Ban on weapons in special events, parades, public assemblies.

Per 8.10.180, weapons are not allowed near special events. If applied to firearms, this should violate preemption:

No weapons or personal items that can be used as weapons shall be allowed in or near any special event, except that members of the media having valid media credentials may possess tools of their trade necessary to their profession.
8.11.140 has similar wording to 8.10.180 except that it applies to parades and public assemblies instead of special events.

8.10.010 defines special events and related terms.

A. Person defined. As used in this chapter the word "person" means and includes any individual, firm, partnership, corporation, city, county, municipality, district or political subdivision. B. Special event defined. As used in this chapter the word "special event" shall mean: 1. Any competitive activity consisting of running or biking races or similar athletic activities; live musical events or dances, community celebrations and observances, not organized for the dominant purpose of expressing the permittee's views, commercial filming; or neighborhood activities such as block parties or picnics; or 2. Any other public event other than a parade or public assembly using any public street or right-of-way.
8.11.010 defines terms for parades and public assemblies.
Likely to interfere or likely interfere for purposes of the definitions of "parade" and "public assembly" is an objective standard that applies when a reasonable person viewing the situation in advance would anticipate significant interference with the ordinary flow of traffic. Whether an event meets the "likely to interfere" standard will turn on the reasonable expectations of the organizers of the event, given the size of the group, the precise plans for the event, whether the intention is to block traffic or avoid doing so, and the predictable conditions at the location and time the organizers have chosen.

Parade means any march, procession or motorcade upon the streets, highways, alleys, sidewalks, or other public rights of way with the intent of attracting public attention that interferes or will likely interfere with the normal flow or regulation of traffic, or, if in a public park or other public space, consists of 150 or more persons, including participants and spectators.

Person means any person, firm, partnership, association, corporation, company or organization of any kind.

Public assembly means any meeting, demonstration, picket line, rally or gathering of persons for a common purpose as a result of prior planning that interferes or will likely interfere with the normal flow or regulation of pedestrian or vehicular traffic, or, if in a public park or other public space, consists of 150 or more persons, including participants and spectators.

Spectator is a person who looks on; an observer. Spectators are not participants in parades or public assemblies.

Unit is a single thing or person or group that is a constituent of a whole.

Ban on Concealing Imitation Firearms
Per 8.98.076:
8.98.076 - Imitation firearm.

It shall be unlawful for any person to:

Point, brandish, conceal, use or attempt to use any imitation firearm which substantially duplicates an actual firearm, in a manner that would be criminal if the imitation firearm were real. For purposes of this section, an imitation firearm is any object that resembles an actual firearm closely enough that a person observing it would reasonably believe it to be a firearm including any imitation, replica, toy or inoperable pistol, revolver, gun, or airgun.
Stun Devices
Per 8.98.065:
It is unlawful, within the jurisdictional limits of the City of Henderson, for any person other than a law enforcement officer, to use an electronic stun device (device which is designed to deliver an electric shock to the body or person of another) for any purpose other than self defense.

It is further unlawful for any person who:

A. Has been convicted of a felony in the United States or the State of Nevada, or in any state of territory of the United States of any public subdivision thereof; or
B. Is a fugitive from justice; or
C. Is an unlawful user or seller of narcotics; or
D. Any minors; to possess such electronic stun device.

Discharge of Weapons

Per 8.98.061 it is unlawful to discharge a firearm within the jurisdictional limits of the city, and the entire limit of the city is deemed a populated place (meaning that under state law unlawful discharge can be prosecuted as a felony.)

The following exemptions exist:

  • 1) Peace officers in the performance of their duties.
  • 2) Discharge in lawful self-defense or towards a person committing a burglary or invasion of his residence
  • 3) At the Henderson Police Pistol Range
  • 4) At Pawn and Gun Shop
  • 5) At the National Guard Armory Shooting range.

This code also defines the geographic boundaries of these regions.

Per 8.98.060 it is unlawful to throw stones or other missiles on any street, lane, or alley within city limits.

Home-Defense

8.98.061 also states:
A person who discharges a firearm while in his residence is presumed to have acted in lawful self-defense if he discharges the firearm towards one who he reasonably believes is committing a burglary or invasion of his residence.

Declared Emergency (Authority to Ban Weapon Sales)

Per 2.24.090, if a declared state of emergency exists within a city, the city council or city manager can:

D. Prohibit the sale, distribution or giving away of gasoline or any other flammable or combustible product in any container except a gasoline tank properly affixed to a motor vehicle, or a type of container generally used in connection with normal home use or legitimate commercial use;
...
H. Prohibit the sale, distribution or giving away of firearms or ammunition; I.
Order the closing of any or all establishment or portions thereof which sell, distribute, dispense or give away firearms,
ammunition or explosives;

Registration of Concealable Firearms

NOTE: Under NRS 268.418, for grandfathered registration schemes for pistols and "firearms capable of being concealed", state law requires that the city amends the ordinances to require 60 days residency before registration is required, and a period of at least 72 hours for registration by the resident of the city upon transfer of the pistol to him. Henderson ordinances do not seem to comply. Also, this law defines “Firearm capable of being concealed” to include all firearms having a barrel less than 12 inches in length. The definition does not include firearms with barrels from 12-14 inches, nor does it include any overall length description. Henderson code (8.98.050) uses a barrel length of 14 inches or less and has an overall length requirement.

Per 8.98.030 it is unlawful to own or have in his possession, without first having registered it with the chief of police, any gun, pistol, revolver, or other firearm with a barrel whose length is 14 inches or less or whose overall length is 18 inches or less.

Multiple Vendor Arena Sales of Weapons

Clark County regulates the sale of weapons in multiple vendor arena sales.

Per 4.74.090:

The display or sale of certain items is prohibited. Prohibited items include but are not limited to:
1.
Dangerous items, including but not limited to, explosives, incendiary devices or agents, dirks, martial arts throwing devices, straight razors, fireworks or bludgeoning devices, tear gas bombs and weapons designed for the use of a shell, cartridge or bomb as defined in NRS 202.370, et seq.; 2.
The display or sale of live animals/birds/fish. (Exception: The display or sale of live animals may be limited to licensed pet stores within the State of Nevada provided that the animals/birds/fish displayed meet all federal, state, county and city codes for possession, quarantine, health certification, breeding permits, etc.) The display shall be subject to the inspection by agents of the division and city animal control officer to determine the conditions of, but not limited to, shade, food, water, housing, etc.;
3. Alcoholic beverages except as provided in the HMC [chapter] 4.36
4. Handguns, except in a specialized multiple vendor arena sale where all vendors display or sell antique or collectible guns, knives, or related items of historic or collectible interest;
5. Automatic weapons, except in a specialized convention wherein all weapons are licensed as required by the federal government;
6. Stolen property of which the licensee has notice, or which in the exercise of reasonable care he could have had notice.

Pawnshop Knife Sales

Per 4.64.200:
A licensed pawnbroker may buy, sell or take for pledge, pawn or security, safety razors, or any dirk, bowie knife or any other knife of any kind or size, whether or not it has any blade over three inches long; provided, however, that no licensed pawnbroker shall buy, sell or take for pledge, pawn or security any other razor, sword, cane, sling shot, blackjack, brass knuckles or Spanish stiletto; provided further, however, that permission to buy, sell or take for pledge, pawn or security of any of the aforementioned permitted knives does not mandate permission to carry such weapons concealed upon the person of anyone in contravention of applicable city ordinances or state statutes.

The definition of a Multiple Vendor Arena sale is provided by 4.74.010:

Multiple vendor arena sale means the congregation of vendors, dealers, sellers, or traders who rent, lease, purchase or otherwise obtain a sales area from an operator for the purpose of selling, bartering, exchanging or trading articles of personal property whether the same is new or used, where the aggregate value of all such property exceeds the amount of $1,000.00. "Multiple vendor arena sale" includes all activities commonly referred to as flea markets, carnival markets, sundry markets, odds and ends sale, parking lot sales and specialty sales or markets of any nature, such as antique gun and knife shows, which involve sale, swap, or display of new or used merchandise or rummage for commercial gain and auto swaps which include the sale of vehicles which are not within the definition of "auto swaps" as set out in [subsection] (a) above. "Multiple vendor arena sale" may be referred to herein as "sale."

Citation of State Firearm Preemption Law

In the statutory references section there is a citation for NRS 268.418, the preemption law.

Reporting Bullet Holes on Vehicles

Per 10.16.113, the person in charge of a garage or repair shop or any other person who repairs a motor vehicle, shall file a written report with the police department within 24 hours of receiving a vehicle, and before any repair work is commenced, if the vehicle shows evidence of having been involved in an accident or having been struck by a bullet.

Explosives

Chapter 15.33 concerns blasting regulations, on-site storage of explosives, etc.

Per 8.32.050 "dangerous fireworks" are prohibited:

8.32.050 - Dangerous fireworks prohibited.

1. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess, store, to offer for sale, expose for sale, sell at wholesale or retail, otherwise provide to another person, or use or explode any dangerous fireworks in the city.
2. Dangerous fireworks will be seized.
3. Dangerous fireworks which have been seized will be disposed of by the Henderson Fire Department.
Definitions:
1. "Fireworks" includes any combustible or explosive composition, or any substance or combination of substances, or article prepared for the purpose of producing a visible or an audible effect by combustion, explosion, deflagration or detonation.
2. "Dangerous fireworks" are fireworks which do not comply with the City of Henderson Fire Safety Guidelines including, but are not limited to, the following:
a. Firecrackers, M-80s, M-100s, salutes and other articles which explode;
b. Fireworks that provide an aerial display;
c. Skyrockets and rockets, including all devices which employ any combustible or explosive material and which rise in the air during discharge;
d. Roman candles, including all devices which discharge balls of fire into the air;
e. Cannons, canes, pistols or other devices designed for use otherwise than with paper caps;
f. Fireworks compositions that may ignite spontaneously or undergo marked decomposition when subjected for 48 consecutive hours to a temperature of 167° Fahrenheit;
g. Sparklers more than ten inches in length or one-fourth inch in diameter;
h. Torpedoes of all kinds including those which explode on impact;
i. Any fireworks that incorporate or utilize a detonator or blasting cap;
j. Fireworks which explode through means of friction;
k. Fireworks kits which are any assembly of materials or explosive substances, designed and intended by the seller to be assembled by the consumer and when so assembled would come within this definition;
i. Devices that travel a distance on the ground exceeding a ten-foot radius.
3. "Consumer fireworks" are those fireworks identified as "Safe and Sane fireworks" and do not explode and do not provide aerial displays and comply with City of Henderson Fire Safety Guidelines.
4. Exceptions.
a.
Consumer fireworks as defined above.
b. Outside fireworks displays that have been permitted in accordance with HMC 15.32.050

Per 10.60.060 it is unlawful to park any explosive or flammable material laden vehicle within any residential or commercial area within the city unless the area has been designated a proper parking place by the fire chief.

Use of Weapons by Animal Control

Per 7.02.050 animal control can use tranquilizer guns and other non-lethal devices and substances in order to apprehend, control, or subdue any animal running at large or considered to be a threat.

Police Firearm Examination Fee

Per Chapter 8.01 there is a "Firearm examination - Serial Number Restoration" fee of $75/hr with a 1 hour minimum.

Stink Bombs

Per 8.90.010 stink bombs are unlawful to sell or use.

Back to list of Clark County Cities / Towns

Las Vegas, Municipal Code of

Title 10 Division IX is the main section regulating weapons.

Possession of Weapons

Ban on Carry of Firearms Capable of Being Concealed without Permit.

10.68.010 forbids any person except a peace officer to wear or in any manner carry concealed upon his person any firearm capable of being concealed without a permit. "Firearm capable of being concealed" is defined as having a barrel less than 12 inches long. It is not completely clear to me whether this forbids "wearing" a firearm capable of being concealed without a permit, or "wearing concealed" a firearm capable of being concealed without a permit. If this code restricts the open carry of a firearm without a permit, this conflicts with the preemption law. This code has exceptions for people not yet a resident for 60 days and during the 72 hour period for which a person can register a firearm.

Ban on Weapons at Special Events

Per 12.02.230 it is unlawful for any person to carry or be in possession of any weapon at the location of a special event while it is taking place, except as authorized by law or specified in a special event permit. If enforced against firearms, this would violate preemption

Loitering with Concealed Weapons, Disorderly Conduct

Chapter 10.70 restricts the carry of weapons while loitering or being disorderly.

This chapter makes it unlawful to loiter in public with a weapon or to participate in any rough or disorderly conduct or fight with a weapon. 10.70.20 describes the prohibition of loitering and 10.70.010 defines a weapon. 10.70.030 prohibits participating in fighting or any other rough or disorderly conduct in a public place or upon the premises of another.

10.70.010 - Defined.

"Dangerous or deadly weapons" includes, but it not limited to:
(A) Any dirk or dagger;
(B) Any knife with a blade three inches or more in length;
(C) Any snap-blade or spring-blade knife, regardless of length of the blade;
(D) Any ice pick or similar sharp stabbing tool;
(E) Any straightedge razor or any razor blade fitted to a handle;
(F) Any dangerous or deadly weapon within the meaning of any law of this State restricting the use thereof; and
(G) Any cutting, stabbing or bludgeoning weapon or device capable of inflicting grievous bodily harm; and
(H) Any firearm, as defined in Section 10.66.010, other than one carried pursuant to a valid permit issued by a duly authorized governmental authority or an ordinary rifle or shotgun lawfully carried for purposes of hunting or other lawful sport. The permit requirement does not apply to:
(1) A person who has not been a resident of the City for at least sixty days; or
(2) A firearm during the seventy-two hour period within which a person is allowed to register that firearm under Section 10.66.040


10.70.020 - Loitering while carrying concealed.
(A) It is unlawful for any person, while carrying concealed upon his person any dangerous or deadly weapon to loaf or loiter upon any public street, sidewalk or alley or to wander about from place to place with no lawful business thereby to perform, or to hide, lurk or loiter upon or about the premises of another.
(B) It shall be unlawful for any person who has concealed upon his person any dangerous or deadly weapon to loiter about any place where intoxicating liquors are sold or any other place of public resort.
Ban on Weapons for Security at Adult Nightclubs, Exotic Dance Studios

Per 6.06B.085 security guards in adult nightclubs shall not carry firearms, knives, nightsticks, clubs, or chemical or electronic weapons.

Per 6.35.130, Security guards in exotic dance studios shall not carry firearms, nightsticks, clubs or chemical or electronic weapons.

Ban on Firearms Carry by Police Reserve Corps without permit

Per 2.32.110 a member of the police reserve corps shall not carry a firearm unless he has qualified for and received a gun permit signed by the sheriff, nor can he carry, wear or display any other item issued to him unless he does so in am manner that if a regular person were to see it, it could not be identified as one issued to a member. Per 2.32.120 it is also forbidden for any person to wear, display, or carry, any items issued to any member of the Corps

Electronic Stun Devices
10.71.010 regulates electronic stun devices.
10.71.010 - Electronic stun devices—Civilian use—When prohibited.
(A) It is unlawful for any person, other than a Law Enforcement Officer, to use an electronic stun device for any purpose other than self defense.
(B) It is unlawful for any of the following to possess an electronic stun device:
(1) Any person who has been convicted of a felony;
(2) Any person who is a fugitive from justice;
(3) Any person who is an unlawful user or seller of narcotics; or
(4) Any minor.
(C) For purposes of this Section, an "electronic stun device" is any weapon or other device that emits an electrical charge or current that is intended to temporarily or permanently disable or incapacitate a person.
Uncodified Ordinance

Per the Ordinance List and Disposition Table, Ordinance #11 concerning Concealed Weapons is not codified

Concealed Weapon Permits

Chapter 10.68 describes the concealed carry permits.

Per 10.68.020, the Sheriff has discretion to issue permits to carry any of the "weapons specified hereunder" based upon his judgement and the permit must specify the kind and description of weapons authorized to be carried.

Per 10.68.030 no permit shall be issued without the person it is being issued to first paying a $3 fee to be registered.

Discharge of Weapons

Per 10.72.010, except in a licensed shooting gallery, it is unlawful to discharge any firearm, air gun, or instrument of any kind which throws a bullet or missiles for any distance by means of the elastic force of air or any explosive substance. There does not appear to be a self-defense exemption.

Per 13.04.050 it is unlawful to pass or hit a ball, use a sling, discharge gravel, marbles, or anything out of a sling shooter, blow gun, air gun, or other device or other similar implement on any sidewalk, street, or public alley. Also per 13.04.060 it is unlawful to throw, deposit, or place on any public street any tire puncturing objects.

Per 11.68.100 it is prohibited to launch or throw projectiles or other objects through the air in a pedestrian mall except in connection with events conducted by or on behalf of The Freemont Street Experience Limited Liability Company or as permitted under Section 11.68.107

Pistols

Chapter 10.66 regulates pistols.

10.66.010 provides definitions for dealer, firearm, firearm capable of concealed, and pistol.

Prohibited People for Pistols

Per 10.66.050:

It shall be unlawful for a dealer or any other person to sell, lease, rent or otherwise transfer a pistol to any person whom he knows or has reasonable cause to believe is included within any one or more of the following categories:
(A) Who is under the age of eighteen years;
(B) Who is under the influence of intoxicating beverages;
(C) Who is a fugitive from justice;
(D) Who has been convicted of a felony in the state or any state or territory of the United States or any political subdivision thereof;
(E) Who is an unlawful user or seller of narcotics;
(F) Who is a member of an association advocating criminal syndicalism as defined in NRS 203.160 through 203.190;
(G) Who has been adjudged insane in this State or elsewhere and has not subsequently been adjudged sane by a court of competent jurisdiction.

Per 10.66.130, it is also unlawful for any person listed in 10.66.050 or a person under the age of 18 to receive, attempt to obtain, or have in his possession or control a pistol. For persons under the age of 18, there is an exception if he is under the immediate charge of a responsible adult and engaged in a lawful purpose

Also per 10.66.150, it is unlawful for any person to aid or knowingly permit any person under the age of 18 to possess or control any pistol except under the immediate charge of a responsible adult and while engaged in hunting, target practice, or other lawful purpose.

Pistol Waiting Period, Delivery

Per 10.66.060 anytime a dealer sells a pistol, there must be a 72 hour waiting period between the time of the sale and the delivery of the pistol, and when the pistol is delivered, it must be securely wrapped and accompanied by a receipt including personal details about the buyer and details about the pistol, and instructions to register within 72 hours if the purchaser is a resident. The waiting period does not apply if one provides bona fide documentary evidence that he currently owns a pistol registered in his name with any law enforcement agency in the county, or that he is a federal law enforcement officer or a law enforcement officer paid by the state or political subdivisions of the state.

Registration of Pistols

Per 10.66.070 the receipt containing personal details of the purchaser of a pistol and the details about the pistol must be delivered to the Sheriff by the dealer within 24 hours after the delivery, signed by the dealer and the transferee.

Per 10.66.140 within 72 hours of receiving title to a pistol by purchase, gift, or other transfer from any person, a resident of the city must register the pistol.

Sale of Home-Made Pistols

Per 10.66.110 it is unlawful to buy or sell home-made pistols except as provided under the Federal Firearms Act.

Sale of Used Pistols

Per 10.66.120 secondhand and used pistols, except antique pieces, sold and purchased shall be in a safe and "first-class" condition.

Sale of Foreign Pistols with Ammunition

Per 10.66.100 no pistol of foreign make shall be sold with ammunition for it unless the ammunition is expressly made for it.

Ban on Pistols with Missing or Altered Serial Numbers and Roll-marks

Per 10.66.080 it is unlawful to purchase, sell, transfer in any manner, or have in possession or control any pistol which the name of the manufacturer, model, or manufacturer's serial number has been removed or altered.

No Pistols or Ammunition in Business Windows

Per 10.66.090 no pistols or ammunition shall be displayed in any store or business window.

Weapon Related Business Licenses

Pistol Dealers

10.66.020 requires a permit to sell pistols at retail or wholesale or for accepting them as security for loans. They also forbid the leasing of pistols, 10.66.030 limits those permits to licensed hardware stores, gunsmith shops, sporting good stores, police and security outfitters, and "class IV secondhand dealers and pawnshops," and 10.66.040 provides that dealers must be approved after investigation by the Sheriff after being submitted to the city council.

Secondhand Dealers of Weapons

Per 6.74.070 one needs a Class II license to be a secondhand dealer of guns and cutlery (and probably other weapons).

Uncodified Ordinance

Ordinance #326 concerning Weapon Sales License is not Codified, according to the Ordinance List and Disposition Table

Martial Arts Instruction
Martial Arts Instruction is regulated under Chapter 6.53.
Armored Cars

6.04.050 covers fees for operating a weapons range or an armored car service. ($150 annually)

Explosives

Chapter 9.28 regulates the storage, sale, and use of fireworks.
"Fireworks" means and includes any combustible or explosive composition, or any substance or combination of substances, or article prepared for the purpose of producing a visible or an audible effect by combustion, explosion, deflagration or detonation, and shall include blank cartridges, toy pistols, toy cannons, toy canes, or toy guns in which explosives are used, the type of balloons which require fire underneath to propel the same, firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, Roman candles, sparklers or other fireworks of like construction and any fireworks containing any explosive or flammable compound, or any tablets, or other device containing any explosive substance. Nothing in this Chapter shall be construed as applying to toy paper caps containing not more than twenty-five hundredths of a grain of explosive composition per cap, and to the manufacture, storage, sale or use of signals necessary for the safe operation of railroads or other classes of public or private transportation nor applying to the military or navy forces of the United States or of this State, or to peace officers, nor as prohibiting the sale or use of blank cartridges for ceremonial or theatrical or athletic events.

Per 9.36.040 transportation of certain explosives are subject to regulations. Per 20.08.380 the storage of materials that are in time of flooding flammable or explosive or could be injurious to human or animal or plant life if prohibited.

Citation for State Preemption Law for firearms.

In statutory references, there is mention of NRS 268.418, state preemption law.

Use of Weapons by Animal Control Officer

Per 7.20.070 the Animal Regulation officer and any Animal Control Officer has the authority, when deemed reasonably necessary, to utilize any weapon, device, or substance, to capture, control , or subdue any animal running at large or considered a threat to persons or property in the immediate area.

Armored Car Parking

Per 11.52.030, armored cars can park at red curbs for the time needed to conduct their business

Back to list of Clark County Cities / Towns

North Las Vegas Municipal Code

Chapter 9.32 and 9.36 are the main chapters concerning weapons.

Definition of Dangerous or deadly Weapon

"Dangerous or deadly weapon" is defined under 9.32.040:

The term "dangerous or deadly weapons" includes, but is not limited to, any dirk or dagger; any knife with a blade three inches or more in length, and any snap-blade or spring-blade knife, regardless of the length of the blade; any ice pick or similar sharp stabbing tool; any straight edge razor or any razor blade fitted to a handle; any dangerous or deadly weapon within the meaning of any law of this state restricting the use thereof; and any cutting, stabbing, or bludgeoning weapon or device capable of inflicting grievous bodily harm; and any firearm other than (a) one carried pursuant to a valid permit, issued by a duly authorized government authority, or (b) an ordinary rifle or shotgun lawfully carried for purposes of hunting or other lawful sport.

Carry of Weapons

Ban on Deadly weapons in Vehicles
Per 9.32.080:
It is unlawful for any person to have in his possession in any automobile, truck, motorcycle, or any other type of vehicle any dangerous or deadly weapon, but this restriction shall not be deemed to prohibit the carrying of ordinary tools or equipment carried in good faith for uses of honest work, trade or business, or for the purpose of legitimate sport or recreation.

If applied to firearms, this would violate state preemption law.

Ban on Weapons in Parks

Per 12.16.020, within the limits of any park, no person shall take into, exhibit, or use in any park any firearm, air gun, slingshot, firecracker, torpedoes, rockets or other fireworks, or other articles of like character.

"Concealed" Weapon Restrictions
Per 9.32.010 it is unlawful to wear or in any manner carry concealed upon his person a weapon without a permit issued by the chief of police.
9.32.010 - Concealed weapon prohibited—Allowed with permit.
No person, except a peace officer, shall wear or in any manner carry concealed upon his person any loaded or unloaded gun, pistol or revolver, or any other dangerous or deadly weapon permitted to be carried by law without having, at the same time, actually in his possession, and upon his person, an unexpired permit to do so issued by the chief of police.

Per 9.32.020 the chief of police can, at his own judgement, decide to issue a written permit to carry a concealed weapon, and no permit shall be granted for more than 12 months. The permit must describe the name, address, and occupation to the person it is issued, the expiration date, and specify the kind and description of the authorized weapon. Per 9.32.030 all people issued a permit are registered with the chief of police and no permit can be issued without having paid to the chief a fee of $25.

Per 9.32.050 and 9.32.060 it is generally unlawful for any person with a concealed "dangerous or deadly weapon" to loiter or be disorderly in public.

9.32.050 - Person with concealed weapon not to loiter.

It is unlawful for any person, while carrying concealed upon his person any dangerous or deadly weapon, to loaf or loiter upon any public street, sidewalk or alley, or to wander about from place to place with no lawful business thereby to perform, or to hide, lurk, or loiter upon or about the premises of another. It is unlawful for any person who has concealed upon his person any dangerous or deadly weapon to loiter about any place where intoxicating liquors are sold or any other place of public resort.

9.32.060 - Person with concealed weapon not to be disorderly.

It is unlawful for any person who has concealed upon his person or who has in his immediate physical possession any dangerous or deadly weapon to engage in any fight or to participate in any rough or disorderly conduct or to participate in any other rough or disorderly conduct upon any public place or way or upon the premises of another.

Electronic Stun Device

9.32.070 regulates electronic stun devices:

9.32.070 - Unlawful use of electronic stun device.

A. It is unlawful, within the city of North Las Vegas, for any person, other than a law enforcement officer, to use an electronic stun device (device which is designed to deliver an electric shock to the body or person of another) for any purpose other than self defense.
B. It is further unlawful for any person, to possess such electronic stun device, who:
1. Has been convicted of a felony in the United States or the state of Nevada, or in any state or territory of the United States or any public subdivision thereof; or
2. Is a fugitive from justice; or
3. Is an unlawful user or seller of narcotics; or
4. Any minors under the age of eighteen (18) years.

9.36.010 defines "pistol" and "dealer."

Restrictions on Pistols and Ammunition

9.36.200 generally prohibits blank cartridge pistols:

9.36.200 - Blank cartridge pistols prohibited.

Possession, transportation, sale or use of a blank cartridge pistol, except for theatrical purposes or for the training or exhibiting of dogs or for signal purposes in athletic sports or by railroads for signal purposes or for use by the United States Armed Forces or any organization of war veterans or by peace officers, is prohibited.

Per 9.36.160 no homemade pistols shall be bought or sold except as provided by the Federal Firearms Act.

Per 9.36.170 all secondhand and used pistols, except antique pieces, sold or purchased shall be in a safe, operable condition.

Per 9.36.150 no pistol of foreign make shall be sold with ammunition for it unless the ammunition is expressly designed for use with it

Per 9.36.140 no pistol or pistol ammunition shall be displayed in any store or business window during the hours when not open for business and under supervision

Per 9.36.110 pistols with altered or removed serial numbers or information are generally illegal as follows:

It is unlawful to purchase, sell or to transfer in any manner, or to have in possession or control, any pistol on which the name of the manufacturer, model and manufacturer's serial number has been removed or altered unless, if upon presentation for registration, the pistol can otherwise be identified to the satisfaction of the chief of police, in which case the means of identification shall be noted upon the registration card.

Prohibited Persons for Pistols

Per 9.36.120, a list of people prohibited from receiving, purchasing, or attempting to obtain in any manner or having in possession or controlling a pistol includes anyone who:

A. Has been convicted of a felony in the state of Nevada, or in any state or territory of the United States or any political subdivision thereof;
B. Is a fugitive from justice;
C. Is an unlawful user or seller of narcotics;
D. Is a habitual drunkard;
E. Is a member of an organization advocating criminal syndicalism, as defined in NRS 203.160 through 203.190;
F. Is foreign born and not a naturalized citizen of the United States of America;
G. Has been adjudged insane in this state or any other state and has not subsequently been adjudged sane.

Per 9.36.130 it is also unlawful for any person to sell, lease, lend, or otherwise transfer a pistol to anyone he knows or has reasonable cause to believe is a person specified in 9.36.120 or is under the influence of intoxicating beverages, mentally ill or disturbed, or is younger than 18 years old. Per 9.36.190 aiding or knowingly permitting a person under the age of 18 to handle or possess or have in his possession or control a pistol except under the immediate charge of a responsible adult is unlawful, and per 9.36.180 it is unlawful for a juvenile under the age of 18 to handle or possess or control a pistol except under the immediate charge of a responsible adult.

Pistol Registration

Per 9.36.100 any person who has been a resident for 60 days or more is required to register their pistols, and any resident receiving title to a pistol by any transfer must register it within 72 hours of receipt, personally at the police station, together with the pistol, for the purpose of registering it with the chief of police.

Per 9.36.090 any person selling a pistol shall within 24 hours of the sale notify the chief of police in writing of such sale, giving the name, address, and description of the transferee, together with the number of the pistol and a complete description thereof and shall notify the purchaser or transferee at the time of delivery that the pistol must be registered with the chief of police within 24 hours.

Pistol Dealers

9.36.020 through 9.36.090 primarily regulate "pistol dealers"

Per 9.36.020 it is unlawful for any person to engage in the business of buying or selling pistols at retail or wholesale or to lease a pistol or pledge or accept any pistol as security for a loan without being a dealer having a pistol permit. Per 9.36.040, a written application must be made accompanied by $25 for an individual, $25 per person for an organization, group or partnership, and $25 per officer for a corporation. Per 9.36.030 the application can only be accepted from the owners of licensed antique gun dealers, gunsmith shops, hardware stores, pawnshops, secondhand stores, and sporting goods stores. Per 9.36.050 the application form is furnished by the city. Per 9.36.070 the city council shall grant a pistol permit if and only if after investigation, is eligible to purchase a pistol, is found to be of good moral character and reputation, and owns a business in compliance with the chapter. Also, per 9.36.060, no dealer shall employ and no person shall accept employment from a dealer without paying $25 to be investigated and registered and obtained a police card from the chief of police.

Minors and Ammunition

Per 9.32.100 it is unlawful to give, sell, offer, or lend any minor under the age of 18 any ammunition for any firearms.

Discharge of weapons

Per 9.32.110 it is unlawful to fire any firearm within the city, and per 9.32.120 it is unlawful to use an air rifle or pellet gun within 500 feet of any inhabited dwelling. There does not appear to be any exemptions for self-defense.

Destruction of Seized Weapons

Per 2.64.040 the chief of police has the power to summarily destroy burglar tools, knives, firearms, deadly weapons, explosives, and other dangerous obnoxious articles and materials coming into possession of the city.

Declared State of Emergency

Per 2.32.080, during a declared state of emergency, the city council or city manager may:

4. Prohibit the sale, distribution or giving away of gasoline or any other flammable or combustible product in any container except a gasoline tank properly affixed to a motor vehicle, or a type of container generally used in connection with normal home use or legitimate commercial use;
5. Order the closing of all or portions of gasoline stations and other establishments which sell, distribute or dispose of liquid flammables or combustible products;
...
8. Prohibit the sale, distribution or giving away of firearms or ammunition;
9. Order the closing of any or all establishments or portions thereof which sell, distribute, dispense or give away firearms, ammunition
or explosives;

Dealers of Used Firearms

Chapter 5.46 regulates second-hand dealers, and per 5.46.020, used guns are included in the definition of "secondhand property." Per 5.46.030, a license from the city is required to be a second-hand dealer.

Firearms Instructor Licensing Fee

Per 5.02.160 one needs a license with a $150 annual fee for firearm safety training businesses.

Citation of Nevada State Firearms Preemption Law

Under the Statutory References there is listed NRS 268.418, the state firearm preemption law applicable to cities.

Explosives

Chapter 8.16 regards permitting requirements for explosives.

Chapter 17.32 contains definitions for certain explosives. Chapter 17.20 regulates storage of explosives based on zoning considerations. 15.72 pertains to explosives in the building code. Per 13.28.120 explosives cannot enter the sewer system.

Back to list of Clark County Cities / Towns

Mesquite City Code

5-1-10 is the main section in Mesquite relating to weapons.

Carry of Weapons

5-1-10A regulates carry of weapons:

A. Concealed And Dangerous Weapons:
1. Carrying Concealed Weapons Restricted: It is unlawful for any person within the city to wear, carry or have concealed upon his person any dirk, dirk knife, pistol, sword in case, slingshot, brass knuckles or other dangerous weapon without proper authorization of the county and state as required by the current Nevada Revised Statutes.
2. Proof Of Permit: It is unlawful for any person to carry a concealed weapon without also carrying proper proof of current required permits upon his person.

Many of these things are not explicitly covered under state and county law. If applied against the open carry of firearms without authorization, this would violate preemption. 5-1-10A does not apply to peace officers in the regular discharge of their duties or to persons acting or engaged in the business of common carriers.

Discharge of Firearms

5-1-10B prohibits discharge of firearms within the city, except in necessary self-defense, for a civil officer in the discharge of his duties, for the legal hunting of animals, and in a licensed shooting gallery or a lawful breastwork for target shooting.
A lawful breastwork must be a wall sixteen inches (16") thick, six feet (6') high in the back, six feet (6') wide, with side wings one foot (1') thick, six feet (6') high in the back, six feet (6') flaringly to the front, and six feet (6') high of adobes, brick or other equivalent material.

Per 6-2-4-9 it is unlawful to shoot any traffic sign or device or historical marker or guidepost

Pawn Brokers

2-5B-31 regulates pawnbrokers selling knives:

2-5B-31: RESTRICTION ON KNIVES AND RAZORS:

A licensed pawnbroker may buy, sell or take for pledge, pawn or security, safety razors, or any dirk, bowie knife or any other knife of any kind or size, whether or not it has any blade over three inches (3") long; provided, however, that no licensed pawnbroker shall buy, sell or take for pledge, pawn or security any other razor, sword, cane, slingshot, blackjack, brass knuckles or Spanish stiletto; provided further, however, that permission to buy, sell or take for pledge, pawn or security of any of the aforementioned permitted knives does not mandate permission to carry such weapons concealed upon the person of anyone in contravention of applicable city ordinances or state statutes. (Ord. 405, 7-22-2008, eff. 8-15-2008)

Electronic Stun Device

5-1-10C regulates Electronic Stun Devices:
C. Unlawful Use Of Electronic Stun Device: 1. It is unlawful, within the city limits, for any person, other than a law enforcement officer, to use an electronic stun device (device which is designed to deliver an electric shock to the body or person of another) for any purpose other than self-defense. 2. It is further unlawful for any person to possess such electronic stun device, who: a. Has been convicted of a felony in the United States or the state, or in any state or territory of the United States of any public subdivision thereof. b. Is a fugitive from justice. c. Is an unlawful user or seller of narcotics. d. Is a minor. (Ord. 32, 4-24-1986)

Pigeon Shoots

Per 10-5-1 it is unlawful to provide or use pigeons or other birds or to fire upon the same in connection with any "shoot" which may result in the killing or injuring of pigeons and such other birds.

Explosives

Per 4-1-7 if the fire inspector detects an unsafe condition regarding the storage of explosive or flammable materials, he shall give the owner a period not exceeding 5 days to rectify the situation. Per 6-1-13 vehicles carrying explosives must be properly marked, and per 6-2-8 must stop at railroad crossings.

7-1A-6 relates to insurance requirements for explosives

Per 8-1-1, "The storage or processing of materials that at time of flooding are buoyant, flammable, explosive or could be injurious to human, animal, or plant life is prohibited."

Per 9-8A-4 home businesses should not create a hazard by using flammable, explosive, or dangerous materials.

Zoning Rules, Building Codes, Licensing, etc.

9-7-6 Tables shows zoning for gun clubs and shooting ranges, gun retail, and gunsmiths. Per 9-7N-3 firing ranges, gun clubs, gunsmiths are conditional uses. Per 9-7W-3 Guns retail and gunsmiths are conditional uses. 9-8-3 creates rules regarding the construction and distances for firing ranges and gun clubs.

Per 2-1-13 armored car business licenses require a $100 fee annually per car.

Back to list of Clark County Cities / Towns

Also, the following Indian Reservations exist in the Clark County area:
  • Fort Mojave Indian Reservation
  • Moapa River Indian Reservation
Return to County Map Return To County Map

Douglas County Code

Firearms Discharge

Douglas County Code 9.68 concerns weapons.

9.68.010 defines firearm and peace officer:

9.68.010 Definitions
A. "Firearm", as used in this chapter, means any weapon, the discharge of which in the ordinary manner contemplated by its design and construction will, or is likely to cause injury, death or great bodily harm.
B. "Peace officer", as used in this chapter, means any person who lawfully carries a gun, pistol or other weapon in the course of his official duties.
(Ord. 384 §1, 1981)
  • Per 9.68.020, Douglas County declares that the use of firearms in open areas around housing units constitutes a danger to the inhabitants, and thus declares the necessity to regulate the use of firearms.
  • Per 9.68.030 it is unlawful to discharge a firearm across any county road or highway. Further, one must be at least 500 feet away from an occupied dwelling to shoot a shotgun or air rifle without the permission of the occupant. One must be 1500 feet away from an occupied dwelling to discharge any other firearm without permission from the occupant. This section does not apply to peace officers, persons discharging firearms in protection of life and property, and persons shooting in any regularly established and authorized shooting range. 9.68.040 makes it a misdemeanor to violate chapter 9.68.

Cities and Towns within Douglas County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. City codes are not posted yet as I have not located a source for the codes.

Tentative List of Towns in Douglas County:

  • Gardnerville
  • Gardnerville Ranchos
  • Genoa
  • Glenbrook
  • Indian Hills
  • Johnson Lane
  • Kingsbury
  • Minden
  • Mottsville
  • Sheridan
  • Statelinev
  • Zephyr Cove / Round Hill Village

Return to County Map Return To County Map

Elko County Code

Discharge of Firearms

  • 7-1-2 prohibits discharge of a firearm in unincorporated areas between one half-hour after sunset and one-half hour before sunrise,
  • 7-1-3 and 7-1-4 prohibits shooting firearms within specified areas. In the community of Jarbidge, discharge of any bow and arrow, pellet gun, bb gun, or other projectile device is also forbidden.
  • 7-1-2, 7-1-3, and 7-1-4 do not apply if one is at a shooting range, or is shooting in defense of self, family, or property. Peace officers are also exempt when discharging a firearm in the performance of their duties.
  • 7-1-19 concerns malicious, negligent, or wanton discharge of a firearm or throwing of deadly missiles in public ways, and in places of public resort.
  • 7-1-20 prohibits willful and malicious discharging of a firearm at abandoned buildings, tents, vessels, vehicles, vehicle trailers, railroad cars and tender.

Self-Defense

  • 7-1-21 prohibits aiming a firearm at a person or willfully discharging a weapon of throwing any deadly missile in a public place where a person might be endangered.
  • 7-1-24 prohibits drawing or exhibiting a deadly weapon in a rude, angry, or threatening manner not in necessary self-defense. Peace officers are exempt from 7-1-24 while in the lawful discharge of their duties.

Firearms and Minors

  • 7-1-22 prohibits a person under the age of 14 from unsupervised possession of a firearm, and prohibits a person from aiding or permitting such a minor to possess a firearm.
  • 7-1-23 prohibits selling a firearm with a barrel less than twelve inches long to a person under the age of 18.

Cities and Towns within Elko County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. City codes are not posted except for Carlin and West Wendover as I have not located a source for other codes.

Tentative List of Towns in Elko County:

  • Arthur
  • Bullion
  • Carlin
  • Contact
  • Currie
  • Deeth
  • Dinner Station
  • Elko
  • Halleck
  • Hunter
  • Jack Creek
  • Jackpot
  • Jarbidge
  • Jiggs
  • Lamoille
  • Lee
  • Midas
  • Montello
  • Mountain City
  • North Fork
  • Oasis
  • Osino
  • Owyhee
  • Patsville
  • Pequop
  • Ruby Valley
  • Ryndon
  • San Jacinto
  • Shafter
  • Shantytown
  • Spring Creek
  • Spruce
  • South Fork
  • Thousand Springs
  • Tuscarora
  • Twin Bridges
  • Welcome
  • Wells
  • West Wendover
  • Wild Horse

Carlin City Code

Discharge of Weapons

Per 6-1-3 one may not discharge any firearm, air gun, or mechanically operated gun capable of injuring a person or property within city limits or into city limits. There are exceptions of defense of life and property, for police in the prosecution of their duties, and for small calibers, within a licensed shooting gallery or within a private shooting gallery with written permission from the city council. Further, it is unlawful to shoot arrows from bows within the city except in areas designated by the city council as a permanent shooting range or temporary special events archery shooting range.

Ban on Allowing Misbehaving Armed Bar Patrons

Per 5-3-22, it is prohibited for any person in charge of any bar or their staff to knowingly permit to stay a person who exhibits in a rude, angry or threatening manner any a firearm, knife with a blade over two inches long, or other deadly weapons.

Self-Defense

Per 6-1-8, one may not draw or exhibit weapons in a rude, angry, or threatening manner not in self-defense except peace officers in the lawful discharge of their duties.

Explosives

Per 8-4-8 vehicles laden with explosive or flammable materials cannot park overnight or deviate off of the hazardous material route. Also per 10-3-3 explosives, poisons, and flammable material cannot enter the sewer system.


West Wendover City Code

Ban on weapons in bars

Per 3-2-13 it is unlawful for any person in charge of any bar or saloon or any of the employees to allow any person to remain on the premises if that person has, is carrying, or exhibiting any knife, gun, pistol, or any other deadly weapon.

Discharge of weapons

Per 4-1-5 it is unlawful to discharge any firearm within the city limits except in a properly enclosed and licensed shooting gallery, or for peace officers discharging firearms in their duties. . Also, arrows cannot be fired from bows except in approved archery ranges. Also one cannot discharge slingshots, airguns, BB guns, or similar weapons whereby any rock, piece of metal, or missile is hurled, propelled, or driven with sufficient force to damage property or animals, except within shooting galleries or in special events approved by the City. There does not appear to be any exceptions for self-defense.

Storage of munitions

Per 4-1-6 it is unlawful to store in one place within the city more than 50 pounds of explosive substances. It is expressly lawful within such limits, to possess shotgun and rifle shells and cartridges and percussion caps "by any person to dispose of in the usual course of business. This code also restricts volume of gasoline and kerosene.


Return to County Map Return To County Map

Esmeralda County

An online resource for Esmeralda County Code does not seem to be accessible. However, there is the Esmeralda County website. Beware that there are likely Esmeralda County regulations that exist that affect weapons. When I have found a source for the local ordinances in Esmeralda County, the applicable codes will be listed.

Cities and Towns within Esmeralda County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. City codes are not posted yet as I have not located a source for the code.

Tentative List of Towns in Esmeralda County:

  • Goldfield
  • Dyer
  • Silver Peak

Return to County Map Return To County Map

Eureka County

An online resource for Eureka County Code does not seem to be accessible. However, there is the Eureka County website. Beware that there are likely Eureka County regulations that exist that affect weapons. When I have found a source for the local ordinances in Eureka County, the applicable codes will be listed.

Cities and Towns within Eureka County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. City codes are not posted yet as I have not located a source for the code.

Tentative List of Towns in Eureka County:

  • Eureka
  • Emigrant Pass
  • Crescent Valley
  • Beowawe
  • Palisade

Return to County Map Return To County Map

Humboldt County

An online resource for Humboldt County Code does not seem to be accessible. However, there is the Humboldt County website and the website for the Humboldt County Sheriff's office. Skip to: Winnemucca Municipal Code.

Concealed Firearms

The Humboldt County Sheriff's Office has a page on CCW stating:

A concealed firearm permit authorizes holder to carry a firearm of the type(s) specified on the permit anywhere in the State of Nevada, excluding areas included below, during the term of the permit, unless the permit has been suspended or revoked. A permittee is not authorized to carry a concealed firearm into specific locations. Those areas where you MAY NOT carry a concealed firearm includes:

Any facility of a law enforcement agency.
A prison, county or city jail or detention facility.
A courthouse or courtroom
Any facility of a public or private school.
Any facility of a vocational or technical school or of a university or college system of Nevada.
Any other building owned or occupied by the Federal Government, State or local Government.
Any other place in which the carrying of a concealed firearm is prohibited by state or federal law.

It is unknown whether Humboldt County intends to enforce these restrictions or has an ordinance against concealed carry in these places. These locations listed are similar to those listed in the Concealed Firearm Permit application form wording requirements devised by the Department of Public Safety. The concealed firearm permit application wording requirements are listed under NAC 202.020. The location restrictions asserted by the application form wording does not match up well with what the actual law under NRS Chapter 202 describes.

Note

Beware that there are likely Humboldt County regulations that exist that affect weapons. When I have found a source for the local ordinances in Humboldt County, the applicable codes will be listed.

Cities and Towns within Humboldt County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. City codes are not posted yet other than for Winnemucca, as I have not found a source for the code.

Tentative List of Towns in Humboldt County:

  • Denio
  • Golconda
  • McDermitt
  • Orovada
  • Paradise Valley
  • Stone House
  • Valmy
  • Winnemucca

Winnemucca Municipal Code

Ammunition

Wholesale Quantities Prohibited

8.20.030 forbids the possession and storage of wholesale quantities of firearms ammunition, as well as explosives and detonators, generally. It provides that individuals may possess "normal" amounts of small arms ammunition for their own use or collection. This code also forbids retailers from keeping or storing more than 500 caps or detonators small arms ammunition, nor can they have for immediate sales or delivery more than one box of detonators or more than 25 pounds of explosives. All ammunition in stores not on shelves must be kept in one place and the fire chief must be notified where that place is.

Minors and Ammunition

Under Chapter 9.20 minors are regulated. Per 9.20.060, it is unlawful to give or sell to anyone under the age of twelve any "small firearms ammunition" without a written order or permit from the parent or guardian of the child. It is also unlawful to give to anyone under the age of twenty-one any explosive or detonator.

Other Explosives

Per 8.20.10 it is generally unlawful to possess, store, transport, use, give, or sell explosives, detonators and fireworks. 8.20.020 provides exemptions allowing for transportation in properly marked vehicles. 8.20.040 provides exceptions for the use of firearms for certain construction and emergency related purposes, by certain people.

Per 8.24.010 it is unlawful to possess, sell, or give away, or cause to explode any firecracker, Roman candles, skyrockets, or other devices constructed of explosive or inflammable powders and commonly called fireworks or pyrotechnical displays, except that the mayor may grant a permit for pyrotechnical displays of fireworks.

Machining and manufacture and storage of explosives is allowed in the M-1 industrial district and explosive manufacture is prohibited in the L-M Limited Manufacturing district.

Stun Guns

9.24.010 relates to stun guns.

9.24.010 - Stun guns regulated.
It is unlawful for any person to use an electronic stun device (device which is designed to deliver an electric shock to the body or person of another) for any purpose other than self defense.
B. It is unlawful for any of the following persons to possess an electronic stun device:
1. One who has been convicted of a felony in any state or territory or in the federal courts of the United States; or
2. One who is a fugitive from justice; or
3. One who is an unlawful user or seller of narcotics; or
4. One who is a minor.
C. Any person who violates this chapter shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.

Recognition of State Firearm Preemption Law

Under Statutory references the state preemption law NRS 268.418 is listed.

Also, the following Indian Colony exists in the Humboldt County area:

  • Winnemucca Indian Colony of Nevada

Return to County Map Return To County Map

Lander County Code

Discharge of Firearms

Per Chapter 9.16 Weapons (9.16.010) one may not discharge a firearm between one-half hour after sunset and one-half hour before sun-rise. Per 9.16.020 peace officers in performance of their duties, persons shooting at a shooting range, and persons shooting in necessary defense of himself, his family, another person or property, are exempt from 9.16.010

State recognition of preemption law

In the STATUTORY REFERENCES FOR NEVADA COUNTIES page describing which state laws affect the county, there is recognition for Nevada firearm preemption law NRS 244.364.

Weapons involved in deaths

Per 2.22.200 D Removal or disturbance of remains and effects of deceased:

D. Any weapon, property or evidence reasonably related to the investigation or prosecution of any person suspected of having criminally caused the death of a person may be delivered by the coroner to law enforcement agencies or to the district attorney, written receipt of which shall be acknowledged. (Ord. 2004-04 § 1 (part))

Explosives

Per Chapter 8.12 Fireworks, one may not sell explosive materials not directly intended for industrial or commercial use (8.12.010) nor can one store or possess them within half a mile of a town (8.12.020).

Cities and Towns within Lander County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. City codes are not posted here as I have not located a source for the code.

Tentative List of Towns in Lander County:

  • Austin
  • Battle Mountain
  • Galena
  • Kingston
  • Pittsburg
  • Rixie

Return to County Map Return To County Map

Lincoln County Code

Concealed Handgun Permits

Per 1-12-5 (L), the county can request background information from the FBI for concealed handgun licenses.

Weapons Testing

Per 13-5K-3, weaponry, ordnance, or explosive testing shall not include the flight of any missile, aircraft, or projectile outside the boundary of an area zoned SID.

Rockets and Explosives

  • Per 5-1-1 it is unlawful to sell, display, sell, or discharge any rocket, squib, firecracker, torpedo, sparkler, Roman candle, firework, or explosive substance.
  • Per 14-5-27 home occupations should not store toxic, explosive, flammable, combustible, corrosive, etiologic, or radioactive materials except for those generally used for residential purposes.

Cities and Towns within Lincoln County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. City codes are not posted here as I have not located a source for the code.

Tentative List of Towns in Lincoln County:

  • Alamo
  • Ash Springs
  • Barclay
  • Caliente
  • Carp
  • Coyote Springs
  • Elgin
  • Hiko
  • Panaca
  • Pioche
  • Pony Springs
  • Rachel
  • Ursine

Return to County Map Return To County Map

Lyon County Code

Carry and possession of firearms, archery devices, and other projectile devices

Per Lyon County Code 14.04.07, firearms are prohibited at county parks, as well as archery devices and other devices which can fire a projectile. The only exceptions to this section include being at a designated shooting facility owned and operated by the county while supervised by the range master, and peace officers engaged in the performance of their duties.

Discharge of firearms and projectile weapons

Discharge of such weapons is also prohibited at parks per 14.04.07 . The only exceptions to this section include being at a designated shooting facility owned and operated by the county while supervised by the range master, and peace officers engaged in the performance of their duties.

Also, per 7.02.02, discharge of firearms is unlawful in congested areas, and the regions deemed to be congested areas are defined. There does not appear to be a self-defense exemption.

City Codes within Lyon County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. If no codes are listed for the town or city, they may still exist. Most city codes are not posted here as I have not located a source for most of the city and town codes.

Tentative List of Cities/Towns in Lyon County:

  • Argo
  • Artesia
  • Bucklands Station
  • Cambridge
  • Churchhill
  • Como
  • Davis Station
  • Dayton
  • Fernley
  • Greenville
  • Hoye
  • Hudson
  • Johntown
  • Ludwig
  • Marshland
  • Mason
  • Mound House
  • Nordyke
  • Palmyra
  • Pine Grove
  • Ramsey
  • Rapids City
  • Rockland
  • Silver City
  • Silver Springs
  • Simpson
  • Smith
  • Stagecoach
  • Stone Cabin
  • Sutro
  • Sweetwater
  • Thompson
  • Tippecanoe
  • Twin Flat
  • Walker River
  • Weeks
  • Wellington
  • Willington Springs
  • Wichman
  • Yerington

Fernley Municipal Code

Carry of Firearms in Cemeteries Prohibited

Per 9.09.10, firearms are prohibited in the cemeteries. The only exceptions are for law enforcement officers, persons with a special permit from the city, or military organizations at military funerals and similar occasions.

Discharge of Weapons

Per 6.02.02: DISCHARGE OF WEAPONS IN CONGESTED AREA, it is unlawful for any person to discharge or cause to be discharged any ordnance, gun, or firearm of any nature in any area of the city.


Yerington City Code

Discharge of Firearms / Ordnance

5-2-7 regulates discharge of firearms within Yerington. Generally, it forbids discharging a firearm or ordnance within the city except within agricultural zones.

A. A person may fire off or discharge a gun, rifle, pistol, ordnance or other firearm within the city only in an agricultural zone, and only if such discharge does not pose a danger to persons or property.

B. No person shall fire off or discharge within a commercial, industrial, transitional, park or residential district of the city any ordnance, gun, rifle, pistol or other firearm of any kind or nature whatsoever, unless otherwise authorized by law.
(Ord. 05-03, 4-11-2005)

Explosives

Per 10-7-4, a special use permit is needed in industrial zones if there are explosive or flammable byproducts

Also, the following Indian Reservation exists in the Lyon County area:

  • Walker River Indian Reservation, (which also is partly within Churchill County and Mineral County borders.)

Return to County Map Return To County Map

Mineral County Code

Ban on Carry of Firearms, Knives, and Other Weapons in Hawthorne

9.76.010 prohibits carrying a weapon in Hawthorne without permission from the city council in Hawthorne. This code restricts the carry of handguns as well as other weapons.

9.76.010: PERMISSION REQUIRED TO CARRY CONCEALED WEAPONS:

It is unlawful for any person within the limits of Hawthorne to wear, carry or have concealed upon his person any dirk, knife, pistol, revolver, sling shot, brass knuckles, razor or other dangerous weapon without first obtaining permission from the city council. The city council may, upon application made in writing, showing the reason of the person or the purpose for which any concealed weapon is to be carried, grant permission under the seal of Hawthorne and attested by its clerk to the person making such application authorizing such person to carry the concealed weapon described in such permission.
(CH Ord. 3 § 7, 1946)

Ban on Ownership and Sale of Firearms, Rockets, Explosives, in Hawthorne

9.80.010 makes it unlawful to keep, sell, or give away a firearm in Hawthorne, as well as making squibs, rockets, Roman candles, chasers, firecrackers, and other fireworks of any nature illegal in Hawthorne. It also makes discharge of firearms illegal in Hawthorne. This code amounts to a ban on firearm ownership in Hawthorne.

9.80.010: RESTRICTIONS OF ACTIVITIES:

It is unlawful for any person to make a bonfire or to burn any material out of doors within the limits of Hawthorne between sunset and sunrise; or to give away, sell, keep, expose or offer for sale or to fire off or discharge within the limits of Hawthorne, any ordnance, gun, rifle, pistol or other firearm, or any squib, rocket, roman candle, chaser, firecracker or other fireworks of any kind or nature whatsoever.
(CH Ord. 3 § 2, 1946)

Penalties

The penalty for violating 9.76.010 or 9.80.010 Hawthorne is a misdemeanor with a fine up to $300, per 9.76.020 and 9.80.020

Cities and Towns within Mineral County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. City codes are not posted here as I have not located a source for the code.

Tentative List of Towns in Mineral County:

  • Aurora
  • Hawthorne - Note the restrictions in Mineral County Code
  • Luning
  • Mina
  • Schurz
  • Walker Lake

Also, the following Indian Reservation exists in the Mineral County area:

  • Walker River Indian Reservation, (which also is partly within Churchill County and Lyon County borders.)

Return to County Map Return To County Map

Nye County Code

Nye County code primarily regulates firearms under Chapter 9.16

Discharge of Firearms

9.16.010 prohibits any person from discharging a firearm within 3 miles of the County Courthouse in Tonopah, and per 9.16.020 the only exemption is for duly authorized law enforcement officers in engaged in the performance of their official duties. There does not appear to be any exception for self-defense.

Shooting Ranges

19.08.330 specifies that every person engaged in the business of conducting, operating, or maintaining a shooting range shall pay a quarter-year license fee of $15.

Cities and Towns within Nye County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here.

In Nye County there are presently no incorporated towns. However, unincorporated towns exist and some have their own codes.

Tentative List of Towns in Nye County:

  • Amargosa Valley
  • Beatty
  • Carvers
  • Crystal
  • Currant
  • Duckwater
  • Gabbs
  • Hadley
  • Lockes
  • Manhattan
  • Mercury
  • Pahrump
  • Scotty's Junction
  • Sunnyside
  • Round Mountain
  • Tonopah
  • Yomba

Pahrump

I could not find any weapons related ordinances within the Pahrump Town Ordinances.


Other Towns

Other towns may have their own codes but I do not have a source for the ordinances in other towns.

Return to County Map Return To County Map

Pershing County Code

Pershing County Code Chapter 9.16 concerns weapons.

9.16.010 provides definitions of firearm and peace officer and Pershing County:

FIREARM: Any weapon, the discharge of which in the ordinary manner contemplated by its design and construction will, or is likely to, cause injury, death or great bodily harm.

PEACE OFFICER: Any person who lawfully carries a gun, pistol or other weapon in the course of his official duties. (Ord. 242, 2007)

Carry of Firearms

9.16.050 prohibits any person in unincorporated areas from casting a spotlight within 300 feet of a vehicle if any person within 300 feet of the vehicle has physical control or constructive possession of a firearm with a round in the chamber. This regulation only applies between September 1 and December 1 of each year.

Discharge of Firearms

  • 9.16.020 makes declarations to justify regulations of firearms use, declaring that use near housing units constitutes a danger.
  • 9.16.030 makes it unlawful to discharge a firearm across a county road or highway. (9.503.175 provides a penalty for shooting upon, over, or across a road.) It also creates a minimum distance of 1500 feet from an occupied dwelling to shoot a firearm, except for shotguns and air rifles. The minimum distance for shotgun and air rifles is 500 feet. Peace officers, persons discharging a firearm in protection of life, property or livestock, and persons shooting at regularly established and authorized shooting ranges are exempt from 9.16.030
  • 9.16.040 prohibits shooting any rifle legal to hunt deer with under the laws of Nevada or any regulation of the State Fish and Game commission, within the Lovelock valley cultivated area or within the boundaries of lovelock valley designated by the County Water Conservation District. 9.16.060 exempts from 9.16.040 landowners, occupants, and employees who are shooting on land owned, rented, or leased by them. It also exempts law enforcement officers and search and rescue members in the necessary performance of their duties, and the shooting of a firearm in a shooting gallery or designated pistol or rifle range.

Penalty

9.16.070 specifies that violating chapter 9.16 constitutes a misdemeanor.

Cities and Towns within Pershing County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. City codes are not posted here yet as I have not located a source for the codes.

Tentative List of Cities/Towns in Pershing County:

  • Imlay
  • Lovelock
  • Mill City
  • Unionville
  • Black Rock City

Return to County Map Return To County Map

Storey County

Storey County Chapter 9.16 is the chapter relevant to weapons. In the last few years, Storey County recognized state preemption laws and repealed ordinances related to the carry of firearms.

Discharge / Aiming of Firearms

  • 9.16.010 defines terms like "congested area," "firearm," and "peace officer."
  • In of public areas of Virginia City, and Gold Hill, and designated congested areas 9.16.030 prohibits discharge of firearms with live ammunition or blanks, and also prohibits aiming a weapon at a person. 9.16.030 also prohibits shooting on or across any road.
  • Per 9.16.040 signs are required to mark designated areas where firearms are regulated under the other parts of the chapter.
  • Per 9.16.070, chapter 9.16 does not apply to peace officers in their duties, persons with valid permits, and the armed forces while on duty. (There does not appear to be an explicit exception for self-defense for people without permits.)

Concealed Firearm Permits

Per 9.16.060 the sheriff creates uniform rules for concealed firearms permits issued in the county.

Cities and Towns within Storey County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. City codes are not posted here yet as I have not located a source for the codes.

Tentative List of Cities/Towns in Storey County:

  • Clark
  • Devils Gate
  • Gilpin
  • Gold Hill
  • Lockwood
  • Virginia City

Return to County Map Return To County Map

Washoe County Code

Washoe County Code contains many rules contrary to state law, including a ban on firearms in county parks, however to my knowledge, as a resident of Washoe County myself, I have not heard of the contrary rules being enforced.

Skip Ahead:

Firearms in Washoe County are mainly regulated by Washoe County Code 50.075 through 50.166.

50.162 and 95.160 concern hunting.

Carry of Firearms and Other Weapons

Ban on carry of weapons without a permit

  • 50.075 through 50.083 regulate "concealed" weapons.
  • 50.075 defines a concealed weapon as
    1. Any explosive substance, other than fixed ammunition;
    2. Any dirk, dagger or dangerous knife;
    3. Any pistol, revolver or other firearm having a barrel less than 12 inches in length ; or
    4. Any other weapon concealed or capable of being concealed on the person.
    Note that this code defines a weapon as being concealed whether or not it concealed!
  • 50.076 bans possession of a concealed weapon (which 50.075 defines to include pistols whether or not they are concealed) without a permit. Washoe County Code is essentially banning handguns for people without a permit by strict reading of the wording of the code. However, in my experience with the Sheriff's office, they are not enforcing it in this way. This code also prohibits carrying with a revoked or expired permit.

Ban on carry and discharge of firearms and projectile weapons in parks

95.220 prohibits the possession of firearms in county parks. It also prohibits archery devices in county parks, as well as the discharge of both firearms and archery devices. It also applies to any weapon that a projectile can be fired. It provides exceptions for designated shooting facilities operated by the county while under the supervision of the range master. 95.230 also prohibits firecrackers, fireworks, torpedoes, rockets, and other "harmful substances" without a permit from the director of the parks.

95.220 Firearms, archery devices: Possession or discharge in county parks.
1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, no person may possess or discharge any weapon from which a projectile may be propelled by means of explosive, spring, gas, air or other force in any county park.
2. The provisions of this section relating to possession or discharge of firearms do not apply if the firearm or archery device is possessed or discharged:
(a) At a designated shooting or archery facility owned and operated by the county; and
(b) Under the supervision and control of the range master at the facility.
3. Each range master may, upon approval of the director, adopt reasonable rules governing the possession and discharge of firearms and archery devices at the facility of which he is in charge, and all persons using the facility shall adhere strictly to those rules.
['12, Ord. No. 229; A Ord. Nos. 437, 713]

95.230 Firecrackers prohibited.
No person may possess, discharge, set off or cause to be discharged in or into any portion of a county park any firecrackers, torpedoes, rockets, fireworks, explosives or other substance harmful to the life or safety of any person, without a written permit from the director.
['13, Ord. No. 229; A Ord. No. 437]

Ban on armed security at adult cabarets

Per 25.055 (n) no adult interactive cabaret can employ security armed with firearms, clubs, or electronic weapons.

25.055 Adult interactive cabaret; records; retention of records; work permit required of workers as employees; prima facie evidence; prohibited activities; restrictions; licensee’s responsibility. ... (n) No adult interactive cabaret shall employ a person to perform security, or employ other persons to prevent disturbances, to work on the premises unless such person(s) have obtained a work permit. No person employed for security or to prevent disturbances shall carry firearms, nightsticks, clubs or electronic weapons.

Electronic Stun Devices

53.112-113 are the primary codes regulating electronic stun devices:

53.112 "Electronic stun device" defined.
"Electronic stun device" means any device designed to deliver an electric shock to the body or person of another.
['2, Ord. No. 1246]

53.113 Unlawful use or possession of electronic stun device.
1. It shall be unlawful, within the unincorporated area of Washoe County, for any person other than a law enforcement officer acting within the scope of his public duty to use an electronic stun device for any purpose other than self defense.
2. It shall be unlawful for any person who:
(a) has been convicted of a felony in this state or under the laws of any state, territory, or possession of the United States;
(b) is a fugitive from justice;
(c) is a minor, except for purposes of self defense within the residence of the minor or the minor=s parent or guardian;
(d) has been judicially declared incompetent or insane; or
(e) has been voluntarily or involuntarily admitted to a mental health facility during the immediately preceding 5 years; to possess an electronic stun device.
['3, Ord. No. 1246]

Civil Emergency Authority to Ban Carry of Weapons (and Sales Thereof)

  • Per 50.032 (f), during a civil emergency proclaimed by the sheriff, the Sheriff can order the discontinuance of selling, distributing, or giving away of firearms or ammunition of any character whatsoever. Per (g) he can also close all establishments or portions thereof in which the chief activity is sale, distribution, dispensation, or giving away of firearms of any character whatsoever.
  • Per 50.034, during a civil emergency, the sheriff can prohibit the transfer, use, possession, or transportation of devices designed to explode or produce uncontained explosions. Also, per this section, the sheriff can prohibit the transport, possession, and use of kerosene and combustible fluids in containers other than in connection with normal operation of motor vehicles, or normal home or "legitimate" commercial use. Also per this section, he can prohibit the possession of firearms or any other deadly weapon by a person (other than a law enforcement officer) in a place other than that person's place of residence or business, and he can prohibit the sale, purchase, or distribution of firearms, ammunition, or explosives of any character whatsoever.
  • 65.330 specifies that if a declared state of emergency exists within the county, the board of county commissioners or county manager can similarly prohibit distribution, sale, and giving away of firearms and close establishments that sell, distribute, or give away firearms, explosives, or ammunition.

Weapon Carry Permits

50.077 regards concealed weapon applications and 50.078 specifies fees. (If applied to firearms some sections may conflict with state law.) 50.079 specifies terms and conditions, and 50.080 specifies the sheriff cannot authorize someone to prohibited by state law to carry or to carry a weapon prohibited by state law

50.077 Application. 1. A person seeking a permit to carry a concealed weapon shall make application to the sheriff upon a form provided by the sheriff. The application must contain at least the following information: (a) The location of the person's residence and his length of residency in the county; (b) The reasons for the request and the need to carry such a concealed weapon; (c) A description of the weapon to be carried; (d) Any criminal record of the applicant; (e) A set of fingerprints of the applicant; and (f) Any other information which the sheriff deems necessary to determine the suitability of the applicant to carry such a concealed weapon. 2. Upon receipt of the application the sheriff shall submit the fingerprints to the Federal Bureau of Investigation and may consult any other person or governmental agency to determine the history and character of the applicant. ['4, Ord. No. 567]

50.083 provides that the sheriff can revoke a permit with or without cause, without any required hearing. If applied to firearms permits, this would be in violation of preemption.

Self-Defense and Use of Weapons

53.120-53.130 concern use of firearms.

53.120 Aiming firearm at human being; discharging weapon where person might be endangered.
Every person who shall aim any gun, pistol, revolver or other firearm, whether loaded or not, at or toward any human being, or who shall willfully discharge any firearm, air gun or other weapon, or throw any deadly missile in a public place, or in any place where any person might be endangered thereby, although no injury results, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.
['4, Ord. No. 592]
53.130 Drawing deadly weapon in threatening manner.
1. Any person having, carrying or procuring from another person any dirk, dirk knife, sword, sword cane, pistol, gun or other deadly weapon, who shall, in the presence of two or more persons, draw or exhibit any of such deadly weapons in a rude, angry or threatening manner not in necessary self-defense, or who shall in any manner unlawfully use the same in any fight or quarrel, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.
2. No sheriff, deputy sheriff, marshal, constable or other peace officer shall be held to answer, under the provisions of subsection 1, for drawing or exhibiting any of the weapons mentioned therein while in the lawful discharge of his duties.
['5, Ord. No. 592]

53.150 also prohibits affray, or agreements to fight in a public place to the terror of the citizens

Sales of Firearms in Flea Markets

Per WCC 25.3706 (2), operators of flea markets are required to require all tenants to supply him with a list of serial numbers for firearms sold as well as the name and address of all buyers. The operator must also maintain the list for a year and submit it to law enforcement on demand.

Discharge of firearms in Washoe County

The Washoe County Sheriff website has an excellent description of some local discharge rules, as well as a map overlay that shows which areas allow shooting, and whether all weapons can be discharged or only shotguns and air guns.

Washoe County restricts shooting at night, and a general summary of the codes regarding where firearm discharge is allowed is that you should not shoot firearms within 5000 feet of an occupied dwelling unless the firearms are shotguns or air guns, then you must not shoot them within 1000 feet of an occupied dwelling, nor in specifically designated congested zones. A more detailed look at Washoe County code is as follows:

95.220 prohibits discharge of firearms, archery devices, and other projectile weapons in county parks.

50.090 through 50.166 are the main codes regulating the discharge of firearms.

50.090 Definitions. As used in sections 50.090 to 50.158, inclusive:
1. “Congested area” means that portion of the county so determined pursuant to sections 50.094 to 50.154, inclusive, where uncontrolled discharge of firearms would result in the greatest risk of injury to life and limb.
2. "Firearm" means any weapon the discharge of which in the ordinary manner contemplated by its design and construction will or is likely to cause death or great bodily harm.
3. "Peace officer" means any person who lawfully carries a gun, pistol or other firearm in the course of his official duties.
['1, Ord. No. 136]

50.092 prohibits:

  • (a) discharge of firearms on or across county roads or highways
  • (b) discharge of firearms other than shotguns, air rifles, and B-B guns, within 5000 feet of any dwellings occupied by a person
  • (c) discharge of air rifles, shotguns and B-B guns within 1000 feet of any dwelling occupied by a person.
  • (d) discharge of any firearm within a congested area.

However, the following exceptions exist to 50.092:

2. This section does not apply to: (a) Peace officers in the lawful discharge of duty;
(b) To persons shooting in any regularly established and lawfully authorized and licensed rifle range, gun club or shooting gallery;
(c) To any person lawfully discharging a firearm in protection of life or property.

50.094 through 50.150 define congested areas, but per 50.152 if any part of a specific congested area described in 50.094 is annexed by a city, that part ceases to be a congested area. 50.158 provides a penalty for violating 50.090 through 50.158 ($100-$1000 fine and/or up to 6 months in jail.) 50.154 defines the required signage for congested areas.

50.154 Posting of congested areas.
1. Boundaries of congested areas described in section 50.094 et seq. shall be posted by signs in a manner and at such places as are reasonably calculated to give notice of firearm restrictions contained in sections 50.090 to 50.158, inclusive.
2. The county engineer shall erect and maintain the signs of a kind and quality comparable to road information signs in a manner designed to attract the attention of persons entering the area.
['4, Ord. No. 136]

50.160 through 50.164 regulate nighttime shooting and spotlight hunting.

  • 50.160 provides definitions for firearms and peace officers and the definitions are very similar to those in 50.90
  • 50.162 prohibits discharge of a firearm between one-half hour after sunset and one-half hour before sun rise. It also prohibits shining a spotlight during that time period for the purposes of hunting a wild animal in unincorporated areas of the county.
County Code 50.162
Nighttime shooting and spotlight hunting prohibited.
Except as otherwise authorized by law, it is unlawful for any person to discharge a firearm of any kind between one-half hour after sunset and one-half hour before sunrise or shine a spotlight between one-half hour after sunset and one-half hour before sunrise for the purpose of hunting a wild animal in the unincorporated areas of the county.

Per 50.164, the following exceptions exist allowing for night shooting:

50.164 Exceptions.
Sections 50.160 to 50.166, inclusive, do not apply to: 1. Any peace officer discharging a firearm or shining a spotlight in the necessary performance of his duties. 2. The discharge of a firearm in a shooting gallery or any designated pistol or rifle range. 3. The discharge of a firearm or shining of a spotlight by any person or his agent in the necessary defense or protection of himself, his family or his property. ['3, Ord. No. 485]

50.166 provides that the penalty for violating 50.160-50.166 is a misdemeanor.

Cities and Towns within Washoe County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. City codes are not posted except for Reno and Sparks, but other towns may have codes as well.

Tentative List of Cities/Towns in Washoe County:

Incorporated Cities

Other towns/CDPs (Many of these do not have any organized government)

  • Anderson
  • Arrowcreek
  • Bartley Ranch
  • Beulah
  • Border Town
  • Bronco
  • Buffalo Ranch
  • Caughlin Ranch
  • Cold Springs
  • Copperfield
  • Damonte Ranch
  • Deep Hole
  • Diessner
  • Dodge
  • Flanigan
  • Franktown
  • Galena
  • Gerlach-Empire
  • Glendale
  • Grand View Terrace
  • Heinz
  • Hidden Valley
  • Hot Springs
  • Huffaker
  • Incline Village (Crystal Bay)
  • Jumbo
  • Lawton
  • Lemmon Valley-Golden Valley
  • Mayberry-Highland Park
  • Mira Loma
  • Montreux
  • Mustang
  • New Washoe City
  • Nixon
  • North Valleys
  • Northeast Reno
  • Northwest Reno
  • Olinghouse
  • Panther Valley
  • Patrick
  • Phil
  • Pleasant Valley
  • Poeville
  • Pyramid
  • Raleigh Heights
  • Red Hawk
  • Red Rock
  • Reederville
  • Saddlehorn
  • Sand Pass
  • Sano
  • Spanish Springs
  • Stead
  • Steamboat
  • Sun Valley
  • Sutcliffe
  • Upper Pyramid
  • Verdi-Mogul
  • Vya
  • Wadsworth
  • Washoe City
  • Washoe Summit
  • Wedekind

Reno Municipal Code

Firearms Discharge

8.18.025 forbids discharge of firearms within Reno, except that a shooting gallery properly enclosed and permitted by the city council can be established and run, and also police are exempt while in the lawful exercise of duties. There appears not to be an exception for self defense.

Carry of Weapons

Weapon ban at Reno Municipal Court

Per 8.12.160 No person shall enter or remain upon the premises of Reno Municipal Court while in possession of a weapon or instrumentality capable of being used as a dangerous weapon. If this were applied to firearms, this may be in violation of state preemption law. Further, it is unlawful to obey a lawful order of a court security officer. The court may, by order, exempt certain police from the weapon ban.

Prohibited weapons at parks

Per 8.23.140 archery, paint ball weapons, air guns, bb guns, and like devices are not permitted in parks or recreation facilities. Further, if anyone commits any offense under chapter 8.23 Article III relating to parks and recreation facilities, there is an additional offense if the perpetrator is also in possession of any explosive or incendiary device as defined under NRS 202.260, a switchblade knife, nunchaku, or trefoil as defined by NRS 202.350 , or a blackjack, billy club, metal knuckles, or any knife with a blade over two inches from the tip of the knife to the unsharpened extension of the blade which forms the hinge connecting the handle.

Ban on weapons for adult cabaret security

Per 8.21.090 security at adult interactive cabaret establishments shall not carry night sticks, clubs, or electronic weapons

Sidewalk Speakers and Merchants

Per 5.14.090, people who engage in expressive communication by displaying and eliciting, or accepting contributions for, selling, offering for sale, exposing for sale, or soliciting offers to purchase any handcrafted art or craft item on any public sidewalk may not display, elicit, or accept contributions for, sell, offer to sell, or solicit offers to purchase dangerous weapons or pyrotechnics.

Per 5.15.100, sidewalk vendors cannot sell dangerous weapons or pyrotechnics

If either of these codes were applied to the display, carry, or possession of firearms, or to the sale of antique firearms, this could violate state preemption law.

Declared State of Emergency

Per 8.34.050 the mayor can declare a state of emergency, and per 8.34.060, during a state of emergency, the sale, distribution, and giving away of firearms and ammunition can be prohibited and establishments that sell, distribute, or dispense firearms, ammunition, or explosives can be closed.

Gun Shows

Per 5.13.110 for firearm or gun shows, there must be compliance with regulations set forth by the chief of police.

Per 5.08.011:

The term "secondhand dealer" does not include a person who engages in the business of buying or selling secondhand firearms or any antique parts, accessories or other equipment relating to those firearms if:
(1) The person engages in that business at an event or activity that:
(i) is held at a convention facility which is owned or operated by and located on the premises of a resort hotel or is held at a recreational facility which is owned or operated by a county fair and recreation board; and
(ii) is conducted for not more than seven days during any six-month period, and
(2) the person has been issued a license as a manufacturer, importer, dealer or collector pursuant to the provisions of 18 U.S.C. Section 923.

Reporting of injuries from weapons

8.18.030 requires any person in the city who has knowledge of any harm or injury done to a person by use of a dangerous or deadly weapon to report it to the chief of police immediately.

Special Events - Containers That Can Be Used as Weapons

Per 5.13.090, in the application for a special event permit, the city manager and events committee must determine whether the agreements for preparing, selling, or distributing food and alcohol minimizes or prevents the distribution of glass, metal, or similar containers that can be used as weapons.

Explosives

Per Chapter 16.02 one may not possess, store, sell, or explode fireworks or pyrotechnic devices except for signaling devices for use by railroads, for emergency purposes, or to designate the presence of a vehicle accident or other emergency. Certain toy caps, model rockets and motors for recoverable aero models, and by permit, other pyrotechnic devices are also exempt.

Chapter 16.02 defines firework or pyrotechnics as follows:
Sec. 16.02.020 - Definitions.

The following words have the following meanings:

Fireworks and/or Pyrotechnics: The terms "fireworks" and/or "pyrotechnics" whenever used in this title shall be interchangeable and shall mean any composition or device for the purpose of producing a visible or audible effect by combustion, deflagration, or detonations and/or containers of any kind in which explosives are used, or a pyrotechnic substance or article containing a pyrotechnic substance, or article containing both an explosive substance and an illuminating, incendiary, tear-producing or smoke-producing substance which falls within the classifications codes 1.1G, 1.2G, 1.3G, and 1.4G as established under 49 C.F.C. § 173.52, as may be amended. Among the examples of fireworks and/or pyrotechnics included within this definition are: many non-detonating military devices such as large flares, and certain propellants, specialty fireworks and larger devices used in public displays, firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, roman candles, sparklers, bottle rockets, or other fireworks and/or pyrotechnics of like construction, fireworks and/or pyrotechnics containing any explosive or combustible compound, and any tablet or other device, including containers of any kind, containing an explosive substance.
(Ord. No. 5932, § 2, 6-13-07)

6.14.150, 6.12.040, and 6.06.205 concern transport by vehicle of explosives and flammable liquids. 6.04.200 defines explosives.

Sec. 6.04.200. - Explosives.

"Explosives" means any chemical compound or mechanical mixture that is commonly used or intended for the purpose of producing an explosion and which contains any oxidizing and combustive units or other ingredients in such proportions, quantities or packing that an ignition by fire, by friction, by concussion, by percussion or by detonator of any part of the compound or mixture may cause such a sudden generation of highly heated gases that the resultant gaseous pressures are capable of producing destructive effects on contiguous objects or of destroying life or limb.

Sparks Municipal Code

Discharge of Weapons.

9.66.010 and 9.66.020 prohibit the discharge of firearms, B-B guns, air rifles, air pistols, pellet guns or other weapons of a similar nature within the city. However, it is legal to establish and run a properly enclosed and permitted shooting gallery with a license from the city council. The police department can grant the authority for a person to discharge a BB-gun, air gun, pellet gun, or weapon of similar nature. Peace officers are also exempt when discharging a firearm in the lawful exercise of their duties. There does not appear to be a self-defense exemption.

Per 10.60.100 one may not throw any substance at a vehicle on any street, nor throw any substance from a vehicle at a person on a street or sidewalk.

Recognition of State Firearms Preemption Law

Sparks recognized State Preemption Law and repealed 12.24.070 (which banned firearms in parks) as a result.

Self-Defense / Rights

9.63.020 forbids drawing and exhibiting weapons in a rude, angry or threatening manner other than in self-defense.

Section 9.63.020 Drawing or exhibiting deadly weapons.

It is unlawful for any person in the presence of any other person, except in self defense, to draw or exhibit any firearm, whether loaded or unloaded, or any other deadly weapon whatsoever, in a rude, angry or threatening manner, or in any manner to use the same in any fight or quarrel, or in such a manner as to cause damage or injury to the person or property of another.
(Ord. 931 § 1 (part), 1973: Ord. 646 § 7, 1966: 1962 Code § 25.055.)

9.15.010 makes it illegal to deprive someone of a tool with intent to compel a person to abstain from doing an act which a person has a right to do.

Section 9.15.010 Coercion. It is unlawful for any person, with intent to compel another to do or abstain from doing an act which such other person has a right to do or abstain from doing, to: A. Deprive such person of any tool, implement or clothing, or hinder him in the use thereof; or B. Attempt to intimidate such person by threats or force.

Reporting of Weapon Injuries

Per 9.63.010 physicians and hospital superintendents must report harm or injury done to a person with a deadly weapon immediately upon receiving knowledge that it has occurred.

Unclaimed Weapons

Per 9.70.010 9.70.020, 9.70.030 and 9.70.040, a lost or abandoned weapon unclaimed for 90 days after reciept, or stolen or embezzled or kept as evidence of a crime remaining unclaimed after six months from the disposition of the case pertaining to it, will be disposed as follows: 1) It can be retained for use or trade by the police department, 2) sold to another law enforcement agency at a price not less than the prevailing market value, 3) sold at public auction, or 4) destroyed by the chief of police if it is dangerous to public safety or has no marketable value. If they decide to sell it at public auction, it could be retained for use by the city instead, or if it is not sold can be donated to a charitable organization or disposed of at the discretion of the chief of police.

Explosives

14.05.3300 concerns blasting explosives and fireworks and transport thereof. Per 14.04.3301 fireworks are generally prohibited to possess or store

Also, the following Indian Reservations exist in the Washoe County area:

  • Pyramid Lake Indian Reservation
  • Reno-Sparks Indian Colony

Return to County Map Return To County Map

White Pine County Code

White Pine County Code Chapter 10.20 is the main section dealing with firearms

Discharge of Firearms

  • 10.20.010 is the code regulating discharge of firearms in Pine County. It generally prohibits shooting between one half hour after sunset and one half hour before sunrise. It also defines some specific areas where the discharge of firearms is prohibited.
  • 10.20.020 specifies that chapter 10.20 does not apply when shooting in self-defense or at a shooting range.
  • 10.20.030 specifies that with written consent from the land owner, one can get a permit to shoot at night on the land owned by that land owner for a period of time up to 3 months, if the written notice is presented to the sheriff.

Gun Shops

Per zoning rules (17.52.040), in a C1 zoning area, gun shops are not permitted.

Cities and Towns within White Pine County

Note: There are likely cities and towns not listed here. City codes are not posted here as I have not located a source for the codes.

Tentative List of Cities/Towns in White Pine County:

  • Baker
  • Cherry Creek
  • Crosstimbers
  • East Ely
  • Ely
  • Lages Station
  • Lund
  • Majors Place
  • McGill
  • Riepetown
  • Ruth
  • Schellbourne
  • Strawberry

Also, the following Indian Reservation exists in the White Pine County area:

  • Ely Shoshone Indian Reservation

Return to County Map Return To County Map

Content was last updated on January 15, 2013.